Ministry of Long-Term Care

Office of the Minister

400 University Avenue, 6th Floor Toronto ON M7A 1N3 Ministère des Soins de longue durée

Bureau du ministre

Ontario

400, avenue University,  $6^{e}$  étage Toronto ON M7A 2J5

eApproval #: 179-2021-91

February 9, 2020

## Re: Extension of the High Wage Transition Fund to March 31, 2021

Dear Long-Term Care Home Licensees:

Thank you for your ongoing dedication to protecting the safety and well-being of long-term care residents and staff during this unprecedented time. Our government is working together with all of our long-term care and health sector partners to ensure the best quality of care for our most vulnerable.

As announced in our government's <u>COVID-19: Long-term care preparedness plan</u>, we are investing \$2,804,100 to extend the end date of the **High Wage Transition Fund** from December 31, 2020, to March 31, 2021. This additional funding will ensure that gaps in long-term care home staffing can continue to be addressed during the COVID-19 pandemic, as we move forward with implementing our historic long-term care home staffing plan.

Sheila Bristo, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Long-Term Care Operations Division, will share details about the terms and conditions of this investment with you in the near future.

Thank you for your continued service and commitment to delivering high-quality care to long-term care home residents in Ontario.

Sincerely,

Merrilee Fullerton Minister of Long-Term Care

 c: Mr. Richard Steele, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Long-Term Care Mr. Peter Kaftarian, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Administrative Officer, Corporate Services Division Ms. Sheila Bristo, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Operations Division Ms. Janet Hope, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Policy Division Mr. Brian Pollard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Capital Development Division

Mr. Jim Yuill, Director, Financial Management Branch, Corporate Services Division Ms. Abby Dwosh, Director, Funding and Programs Branch, Long-Term Care Operations Division

Mr. Bill Hatanaka, Board Chair, Ontario Health

Mr. Matthew Anderson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Health

Ms. Donna Duncan, Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Long-Term Care Home Association

Ms. Lisa Levin, Chief Executive Officer, AdvantAge Ontario